Southeast Kansas Multi-County 
Health Departments

4 Counties, 1 Goal. Hope, Happiness & Health for Kansans.

August Health Message

School Immunizations

School will be beginning soon and there might be some immunizations that will be required for your child. The required 2017-2018 immunizations for school entry are: Kindergarten – 6th Grades will need to have recorded 5 doses of Dtap (diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis), 4 doses of IPV (polio), 2 doses of MMR (measles, mumps, rubella), 2 doses of Varicella (chickenpox) and 3 doses of Hepatitis B. Some additional recommended vaccines would be 2 doses of Hepatitis A and an annual Influenza vaccination in the fall. Students in 7th – 12th grades will be required to have 1 dose of Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis). Some additional recommended vaccines would be 2 doses as early as 11 years old of HPV (Human Papillomavirus Vaccine), 1 dose of MCV4 (Meningitis Vaccine) at 11 years old with a booster dose given at 16 years old, and an annual Influenza vaccine for anyone age 6 months and older. Listed are the usual number of doses required; however, there are exceptional circumstances that can be reviewed by your health department nurse or your child’s primary care provider.

Immunizations are available at the SEK Multi County Health Department. The health departments hours are Monday – Thursday 7:00 am – 5:30pm and closed from 12:00 – 12:30pm in Allen County, Bourbon County and Anderson County. Woodson County health department hours are Monday – Thursday 8:00am – 5:00pm, closed for lunch. These health departments accept Blue Cross Blue Shield, Cigna, United Health (private), KanCare (America Group, Sunflower, United Healthcare) insurances. Contact the health department for additional information.

August is....

Wold Breastfeeding Week
August 1-7th